Chris Smith

Chris Smith represented the Hildenborough Ward on Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council until 2019.

Chris moved to Tonbridge in 1967 from Orpington. In 1974 he married his wife Sonia and they have lived in Hildenborough ever since.

Chris took early retirement in 2003 from his job in the service industry based in London with one of the country’s leading property companies. Since he retired, he has been able to devote his time to one of his interests of local government. Currently he represents Hildenborough as a Tonbridge and Malling Borough Councillor serving the community for the past 12 years. He has also served on Hildenborough Parish Council only standing down in 2011 after 20 years of service.

Amongst many interests, Chris has a particular interest in Social Services.  For 8 years from 2009, Chris represented Tonbridge as a Councillor on Kent County Council.   He was Deputy Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care and Public Health at Kent County Council and also was involved in Planning as Vice Chairman, Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee as Vice Chairman and sat on the Environment and Waste Cabinet Committee.

Apart from his involvement in local government Chris has a big interest in a number of sports – mainly cricket where he is a qualified cricket umpire.

See Also

Valerie Dagger

Valerie was a County Councillor from 2001 to 2017. [Please click on name link for more information]

John Balcombe

John Balcombe represented the Aylesford Ward until May 2015.

Sue Murray

Sue Murray previously represented the Borough Green and Long Mill Ward. [Please click on name link for more information]

Rt Hon Sir John Stanley

Sir John Stanley served as Member of Parliament for Tonbridge & Malling until the end of March, 2015. [Please click on name link for more information]

David Cure

David represented the Judd Ward of Tonbridge from 2003 to 2019. [Please click on name link for more information]

Simon Jessel

Simon represented the Wateringbury Ward from 2011 to 2019.

Russell Lancaster

Russell represented the Medway Ward of Tonbridge from 2007 till 2019. [Please click on name link for more information]

Sasha Luck

Sasha represented the West Malling and Leybourne Ward from 2003 to 2019. [Please click on name link for more information]